Quick Tip: Reflector for iPad Instruction


Reflector_iPadInsight

Even in a one-iPad classroom, you need to be able to project your iPad for a large group to see. In my classroom, I was using an adapter piggie that I had to unplug from my computer in order to plug into the iPad. I would have to hold the cord in while I was projecting or it would fall out, and I could only move as far as the cord would stretch (which usually meant leaning over the table while standing on one leg . . . you get the idea!). Then I found reflector.

Screen_Shot_2014-06-26_at_10_39_55_AM

Reflector is an application that you download to your computer. It can wirelessly project any iPad, iPod, iPhone, etc. The device just needs to have airplay mirroring capability. It has been the answer to my iPad problems! Now I can walk around the room while projecting my iPad, and even better, a small group of students using an iPad can project their work for the whole class to see. In fact, multiple devices can be projected at the same time! My students and I tested it out, and we were able to get up to 8 devices to project at once.

This means that if  I am doing a whole group math lesson, for example, I may ask students to solve a math problem in cooperative learning groups of 2 or 3 by recording their thinking and discussion using educreations on the iPad. Then each group can project their iPad at the same time in order to see each group’s answer. If the answers don’t match, we can just ask a group to play the recording of their thinking! What a great way for an authentic class discussion.

Reflector is also a great tool for BYOD schools. The reflector app is downloaded on one computer, and it will project any device that students bring. Yay! No trying to manage what is on their devices! I have also found that it is a great way to do iPad tutorials. I can project my iPad on the computer and record my computer screen using screencastify or quicktime player  in order to show what I am doing on the iPad.

So what does this versatile tool cost, you ask?

reflector_with_cost

 

Screen_Shot_2014-06-26_at_11_44_50_AM No brainer, right? Please share your ideas on the uses you find for projecting multiple devices in the classroom!

One thought on “Quick Tip: Reflector for iPad Instruction

Leave a Reply

