Teacher Mama


It has been awhile since I’ve posted anything because I’ve been on maternity leave! My long-awaited baby boy arrived March 25, 2012 (over spring break), and I’ve been enjoying every moment since!

My maternity leave lasted until summer began, so I am lucky enough to have 4 months with my boy before I go back to work. I have to admit that I’m worried about being a full time mom and a full time teacher. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE teaching–in fact, like many teachers I know, I tend to be an overachiever when it comes to teaching. I put in a lot of time, effort, blood, sweat, and tears because I enjoy it. The payoff I get from the students in my class who are excited to learn is the reason I chose this profession. And now I want to be an over achiever for my son as well. But how do I do both without letting one suffer? I know it can be done because I’ve seen amazing teacher mamas do it. But as I look at the precious face of the little bundle in my arms right now I wonder . . . how?

So . . . any advice for the new teacher mama?

15 thoughts on “Teacher Mama

  1. I\’m glad I haven’t had to deal with this one yet! I’m sure you’ll do great:) All I know is that my teaching teammate who was the most successful and least stressed mom I knew was one who left 15 minutes after the bell rang. It always seemed extremely gutsy to me, but she gave 200% during the day and then turned it off. I know it’s hard to contemplate doing that, but maybe try cutting the time you usually stay after school in half at least!

    • I’ve heard that– and I’m going to try! If I can just be organized enough to leave, then I think I can do it! I’m working on the organization thing . . . 🙂 Thanks Ruth!

  2. I’m not a “certified” teacher, but I have been teaching ever since I became a “mama” 38 years ago. The reason I know you’ll be a “steller” one has to do with the kind of “certified teacher” that you have become. Keep your priorities straight: God
    family
    friends
    work
    and you’ll do just fine. Also, give all you can give to the task you’re working on at the moment, but give yourself permission to “wrap-it-up” knowing that it’s not “perfect”. Think of it not as taking a “short cut”, but as teaching by example. After all, how can we not expect perfection from those little minds if we constantly seek perfection in ourselves.

  3. Emily – I know you’ll do a fabulous “teacher mama” job! And I’ve got a daughter-in-law you should definitely talk to! Marika impresses me on a regular basis! She is one “teacher mama” who has her act together!

  4. I found your blog through Me and my gang. I have two little ones and I teach as well. I would say sleep when that little one is sleeping.I would also say enjoy every second with your cutie. They grow up too fast and you won’t believe how fast a year flies by. He’s a cutie!!
    Hive2nd.blogspot.com

  5. Congratulations on your very adorable little guy! Remember you’ll always have students but he will only be little once. Enjoy every moment because he will grow up way too fast!

  6. Found your blog through pinteret, and I love it! Congrats on your little man! It’s hard to go back the next school year, but you’ll do fine. My little guy turns 4 this winter, and when I first went back (after the spring break after his birth) I was terrified. It made it a lot easier knowing that he was closely, but also that I had wonderful support at school who had done it too. Stay strong!

  7. I am struggling with the same thing right now. I just spent 2 days at school setting up my class but still have so much to do before kids start. I actually tried to bring my little guy (6 months) with me and had his bouncy, exersaucer etc… Didn’t work out real well but he did nap for a good 1/2 hour in my library center on his pillow. It was just too hard to focus and be efficient with everything that I have to do. I am calling in several friends who have offered to help me put up simple things like bulletin boards etc.. Normally I thank people for offering and don’t take them up on it but NOT this year. I figure some day I can repay the favor.
    One thing I use is baby Einstein videos when I need 30 minutes to work at home and he loves those! 30 minutes is the max though…

Leave a Reply

